PML-N candidate wins NA-19 by-poll: unofficial results

August 17, 2015 5:53 AM

13 0

HARIPUR: Candidate for the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Babar Nawaz Khan has defeated rival candidates from the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan People's Party (PPP) by a massive margin in the by-election on NA-19 constituency in Haripur.

According to unofficial and unverified results on Monday morning, PML-N’s Babar Nawaz Khan received 116,624 votes, defeating runner-up Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Raja Amir Zaman by more than 38,000 votes.

There were 577,480 registered voters, including 259,319 women, in the constituency with nine candidates, including independents, in the run for the seat.

The NA-19 constituency seat had fallen vacant when the Supreme Court de-seated Omer Ayub Khan on the petition of his rival candidate Dr Raja Amir Zaman.


To category page