Faysal Bank T20 Cup: ZTBL becomes first team to book semi-final ticket

November 30, 2013 3:17 PM

22 0

Spinne­r Gohar’s all-round show helps side beat Wapda.

KARACHI: Left-arm spinner Zafar Gohar starred with a superb all-round show to help ZTBL defeat Wapda by five wickets and become the first team to secure their place in the semi-finals of the Faysal Bank Departmental T20 Tournament at the LCCA Ground in Lahore.

ZTBL have now won three out of three encounters, earning a maximum six points.

ZTBL decided to bowl first and their decision worked as they restricted Wapda to 101 for nine in 20 overs. Gohar gave away just 20 runs for his four wickets while Imran Khan chipped in with three scalps.

In reply, ZTBL lost their in-form openers Imran Nazir (9) and Sharjeel Khan (1) early but they managed to score 105 for five in 17 overs. Yasir Hameed remained unbeaten on 38 off 45 balls while Gohar scored a 17-ball 30 studded with two sixes and as many boundaries. Zulfiqar Babar and Khalid Usman bagged two wickets apiece.

Opener Sharjeel, who is in contention for being called up in Pakistan’s next tour of Sri Lanka in place of Nasir Jamshed, said that ZTBL players are hungry to become champions.

“We’re really determined to win this tournament as we haven’t done it in a while,” Sharjeel, who has been a prolific scorer at the domestic level in all formats, told The Express Tribune.“With the squad that includes me, Imran, Yasir, Haris Sohail, Shahid Yousuf and others, we should become champions this time around.”

In a jarring display, PTV were reduced to nil for five wickets against PIA after Najaf Shah’s burst as he claimed four wickets while Sarfaraz Ahmed scored another fifty in PIA’s 10-wicket win.

Batting first, PTV managed 96 for nine courtesy Yasim Murtaza (40) and Zohaib Ahmed (32) who saved their team from colossal damage.

In reply, PIA raced to 97 for no loss as Sarfaraz made 50 off 40 with seven boundaries to go top of the run-charts with 144 runs from three matches.

PQA made amends for their opening loss of 10 wickets against SNGPL with a 39-run victory against HBL at the Gaddafi Stadium.

Batting first, PQA accumulated 165 for three after a 60-run opening-stand between Shahzaib Hasan (35) and Khalid Latif (19).

Khurram Manzoor then hit 57 off 35 balls and was involved in a 78-run partnership with Faraz Ali, who chipped in with 32. In reply, HBL only managed 129 for nine as Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Talha and Kamran Younis claimed two wickets each.

Meanwhile, NBP’s hopes in the competition were dashed after a consecutive third loss as UBL stunned them with a six-wicket win.

Source: tribune.com.pk

To category page